Taken 4 Granted


There is no worse feeling than feeling unloved, not being appreciated, of being used and taken for granted, taken advantage of, especially by loved ones, people that you care about and who are supposed to care about you in return, friends included.

Have you ever went out of your way to do something for someone, only to have them not appreciate it? Gone without so someone else could have something? Given your last? How about the shirt off your back? Then “they” the recipient of your generosity didn’t so much as offer a thank you?

Just acted like you were supposed to do it, like it was your duty, instead of a favor that you could have refused to do, but instead decided to move heaven on earth to make it happen for them.

I know, its not a good feeling right? I’ve been there before, way too many times… I’ll probably never stop being there, who knows…

Why do people do this? Is it simply an oversight? Or is it that they are hard-wired to truly be cold and unfeeling? Is it that they know no better? And showing their gratitude or lack thereof is simply a learned behavior?

Manners go along way. At times there simply is no possible way that you can aptly show how grateful you truly are for a favor, other than saying thank you.

As simple as the words Thank You may be, they mean more to me than singing my praises from the rooftops! I don’t need an ad in every publication known to man, declaring that I had done a selfless act. Actually I’d much prefer if it remained between the recipient and I.

If you knew me you’d know I’m a very humble person, despite being bipolar. If it can be done, I can do it. No question.

So my question to you is, do you stop being who you are because others are unable to appreciate you? Or do you continue to be yourself, because regardless of the reasoning they use as to why you do the things you do, we know you do it because you are a genuinely good human being. 🙂

For anyone that has ever experienced this please read my blog post I appreciate you.

Because, I do appreciate you!

Be blessed!
Che’ xoxo

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

10 thoughts on “Taken 4 Granted

  1. I feel your pain at not being appreciated. People by and large are very self centered and always put themselves first. Most people feel entitled to be privileged. I am sorry to say this but it is true.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • Thank you ever so much John! Insightful as usual! Its rather unfortunate that the masses are so selfish.
      Though it often rouses, pain and resentment, I don’t think there’ll ever be a time where I’ll not be true to myself. I will help anyone I believe to be helping themselves.

      Always,
      Che’

  2. Love, sympathy, sharing, caring, touched, heart felt, are all blessings in disguise showered upon you by The Almighty. One must not forget the pain, the sorrow, the suffering, the sad void of another person’s heart, if so then its is a shame. Ungrateful, selfish and self centered are the only praises i can shower upon those who don’t feel the pain and agony of a man’s sufferings.
    Don’t fret. Don’t complain. Please don’t stop. Continue. Just continue because HE is watching.
    Share as much love as you can. Share joy and happiness too. By the way its free you don’t have to pay a dime to just put a hand on somebody’s shoulder and tell him/her she is doing a great job and thank him/her for it.
    I love what you have written…please continue.
    God bless you and your loved ones.
    adil

  3. Whilst I understand where you’re coming from it all ALWAYS comes back to ME. We don’t do things for people for their gratitude and there’s a fine old English saying, “the better part of valour is humility”. Don’t do things for “appreciation” the feeling you are trying to get the “payback” the thank you and the appreciation all stem from self love and within. Blessings and light shower your path Che’.

    • I understand your point. But I don’t do things for anyone’s gratitude. I do the things I do from my heart. I’ve been burned many times, I still haven’t stopped being who I am because someone else didn’t show appreciation.

      I was merely saying that maybe some people just don’t know any better. Maybe they are totally oblivious as to the fact that people go out of their way to help them and it isn’t an entitlement as much as its an act of selflessness.

      Again humility goes a very long way, each & every time…

      Love & Light to you my friend, thank you for your insight.

      Che’ xoxo

  4. I love this! Your words represent the fiber of my being and the soles of my shoes. Regardless of the actions of others, I elect to always be the best me. This means abiding in my fiber and making decisions based on the right, unselfish, kind, positive, example-setting thing to do. I understand and know the feeling of being taken for granted. My responsibility and purpose lies in my actions. The actions of others in response is a reflection of them. Keep pressing forward.

    When you are taken for granted, know that you have done the right thing.

  5. THE ONES THAT DO NOT APPRECIATE YOU WHEN THEY HAVE YOU,, THEY FEEL THE PAIN OF KNOWING THAT WILL NEVER GET A 2ND CHANCE…. WHEN IM DONE IM DONE…

Leave a Reply

