See something, Say something or Not?!


When is it appropriate to see something & say something?
When is it permissible?
When is it ok to not mind your business?

That’s the question at the forefront of my mind today…

We’ve all heard about how it’s advisable to mind your business; to not cross certain boundaries when it comes to infringing on the rights of privacy due to others.

I’m trying to ascertain when it would be acceptable to get involved in a situation that has nothing to do with you personally, but everything to do with you morally?!

Last night, on a rare night out with the girls, I witnessed someone slip something into an unsuspecting female’s drink.

They were dancing with her shortly prior to the incident and she seemed receptive to the frisky advances that they were engaging in on the dance floor.

They parted ways after about 10 minutes of dirty dancing. She danced with several other suitors before the one guy approached her from behind and dropped something into her drink which she was holding by the rim, by her side, before walking away.

I was standing behind her and saw everything. I had to think fast. I reacted.

I “accidentally”, purposely bumped into her, her drink fell.
Mission accomplished.
The pill had almost completely dissolved.

Naturally she was pissed off. I apologized. She was belligerent.
I gave her $10 to buy herself another drink.

She accepted it before advising me to “watch where the hell I was going.”
I advised her to “pay attention to her drink as someone had just dropped something in it.”

Needless to say she wasn’t in the right frame of mind to be receptive to the fact that she had been saved from God alone knows what, danger.

I posted a status on Facebook about being careful in the bars & clubs, because even though she didn’t sit her drink down unattended, the position that she had it in, she couldn’t see it.

I got many comments. From kudos, to I destroyed evidence, to why did that concern me. So that made me think.
When is it okay to see something, say something?!

I’m going to send a message to John Quinones @JohnQABC of ABC’s What would you do.
He’s covered this topic before just on a different scenario.
I’d like to hear your take on this…

Please be careful. We are each other’s keepers…

Was I right to react?

20140629-185556-68156127.jpg

OR

Should I have….

20140629-185637-68197947.jpg

4 thoughts on “See something, Say something or Not?!

  1. This is a very good topic. I believe that you were an angel that night and probably saved her life. I don’t do the club scene or even hang out where alcohol or drinks are involved. People are crazy as hell nowadays and will not even think for a second about the stupid shit that they are doing. In my opinion, you did the right thing. I am always aware of my surroundings and I try to teach my children to do the same. Who knows how many pills were slipped into someone’s drink that night or how long it was going on. I can’t stress it enough and as a general rule, for everyone should be: Be Aware Of Your Surroudings

  2. You were absolutely right to do something, although it may not have been the best option available since it created a hostile response. I really wish someone had intervened for me- I went on a date where the dude slipped something in the one beer I drank, and I woke up naked in another state. We have to protect each other out there!

    • I am so sorry to hear that you experienced that! Indeed we need to watch out for each other.
      I later heard that that sort of thing is commonplace at that venue. So if my action spared 1 person, I’m okay with that. Thank you for sharing your story 🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌 Hugs

Leave a Reply

